English | मराठी 

Air India, IOC begins on winning note in Murugappa Hockey


Joint winners last year, Indian Oil Corporation and Air India began their campaign this year on solid note

hockeyChennai: Joint winners last year, Indian Oil Corporation and Air India began their campaign in the 88th All India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey tournament on a solid note as they recorded big wins in different group matches here today.

The first match of the second day between Air India and local outfit Indian Bank was interrupted by rain and was stopped for about 20 minutes in the first half.

Air India won the match 10-2 with goals from Shivendra Singh (8th, 15th, 69th minutes), Somanna Pradhan (34th, 56th), Arjun Halappa (20th), V S Vinay (29th), Armaan Qureshi (32nd), Joga Singh (65th) and Sameer Dad (68th) V Raja (18th and 43rd) scored both the goals for Indian Bank.

In the second match, IOC beat Comptroller and Auditor General Office 8-1. Internationals V Raghunath (24th, 26th, 67th) and Prabhjot Singh (34th, 44th, 49th) scored three goals each and Deepak Tagore (29th) and Didar Singh (37th) netted once, while S S Bundelha scored the consolation goal for the Auditors.

In another match, Indian Overseas Bank got the better of Army XI 3-1. Shanmugam scored twice and Adam Sinclair once for the bank side while Euazer Lakra scored the lone goal for Army.


Leave a Reply