English | मराठी 

Allahabad High Court gets seven new judges


Allahabad: Seven judicial officers of Uttar Pradesh were today sworn in as Additional Judges of the Allahabad High Court.

They were administered the oath of office by Chief Justice Dhananjay Yeshwant Chandrachud.

With their swearing in, the number of judges in the High Court has reached 83, as against the sanctioned strength of 160.

Among the newly-sworn in judges, Justices Mukhtar Ahmed and Amar Singh Chauhan were serving as District Judges at Kanpur and Meerut respectively until their elevation to the High Court.

Justice Shamsher Bahadur Singh was Principal Secretary, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs while Justice Vinod Mishra was District Judge of Pilibhit.

Besides, Justice Pramod Srivastava had retired from the post of District Judge in January.

The age of superannuation in district courts is 60 while that in High Courts is 62.

In addition, Justice Raghavendra Kumar was Member-Secretary of the State Legal Services Authority while Pratyush Kumar had been serving as the Registrar General of the High Court.

Leave a Reply