English | मराठी 

BJP ahead in Zila Parishads, Cong keeping up in panchayats


Jaipur: BJP has won 76 Zila Parishad wards while Congress has won 36 out of 1,014 wards in 33 districts of Rajasthan where counting of votes is being held today for local body polls.

BJP has bagged majority in Zila Parishads of Chittorgarh, Pratapgarh and Sirohi and they will elect their Zila Pramukh on February 7.

In Panchayat Samitis, out of total 6,236 wards, BJP has won 349 while Congress has won 322.

According to state election commission, 57 independents have won Panchayat Samiti polls while BSP has won in one ward.

Counting of votes for Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti polls, which were held in three phases in Rajasthan, began at 8 AM at all the 33 district headquarters amid tight security.

The elections were held to elect 1,014 ward members of Zila Parishad and 6,236 members of Panchayat Samiti in three phases.

Leave a Reply