English | मराठी 

Cong welcomes constitution of Seventh Pay Commission


7th Pay commission will be in effect from 1st January 2016, will benefit 50 lakh govt employees

INCNew Delhi: Welcoming the constitution of the Seventh Pay Commission, Indian National Congress (INC) today recalled that the BJP-led NDA government had “rejected” the legitimate formation of the Sixth Pay Commission in 2003.

Party general secretary in-charge for Communication Ajay Maken’s tweeted hailing the pay commission came soon after the government announced constitution of the Commission, which would go into the salaries, allowances and pensions of about 80 lakh of its employees and pensioners.

Maken on micro blogging site Twitter said, “7th Pay Commission of Govt employees announced. Except for 6th Pay Commission all Pay commissions are set up in 3rd year of a decade. The government should attract best of talents as its employees. Pay Commissions help in attracting and also retaining best available talents.”

Announcing the decision earlier, Finance Minister P Chidambaram said in a statement, “Prime Minister Manmohan Singh approved the constitution of the 7th Pay Commission. Its recommendations are likely to be implemented with effect from January 1, 2016″.

Maken recalled that the NDA government had rejected the Sixth Pay Commission in 2003. “NDA rejected the legitimate formation of 6th Pay Commission in 2003. Congress setup 6th Pay Commission in 2005, now again the 7th CPC in 2013,” he said.

The government constitutes Pay Commission almost every ten years to revise the pay scales of its employees and often these are adopted by states after some modification.

The sixth Pay Commission was implemented from January 1, 2006, fifth from January 1, 1996 and fourth from January 1, 1986.

The setting up of the Commission, whose recommendations will benefit about 50 lakh central government employees, including those in defense and railways, and about 30 lakh pensioners, comes ahead of the Assembly elections in five states in November and the general elections next year.


Leave a Reply