English | मराठी 

Former Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi seat

Arvind Kejriwal

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party national convenor and former Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest from New Delhi constituency, the party today said, as it announced the list of eight more candidates.

Kejriwal, who surprised many by trouncing the then chief minister Sheila Dixit by over 22,000 votes, in the last Assembly elections figured in the fifth list of candidates announced by the party.

Party sources said Kejriwal’s name was to be proposed by 69 candidates at the end. But the party wanted to end the confusion.

“The BJP and the Congress were trying to send a message that Kejriwal would change his seat. Had we not declared his name, then it would have sent a wrong signal,” said a party leader.

After the announcement of Kejriwal’s name, Delhi BJP attacked AAP saying it had said that it would announce the name of Arvind Kejriwal as its last candidate, but it suddenly took the U-turn.

“This is another U-turn by the AAP. They declared they will announce Kejriwal as its last candidate and field him against BJP chief ministerial candidate, but AAP fielded him from New Delhi constituency. It is a total U-turn. Has Kejriwal accepted his defeat? ” Delhi BJP spokesperson Harish Khurana said.

AAP has also given ticket to former deputy Speaker of Delhi Legislative Assembly Fateh Singh from Gokulpuri. Singh had bid adieu to BJP before joining AAP last week.

Leave a Reply