English | मराठी 

HIL announces panel of Indian officials for 2015 event


New Delhi, Nov 21 (PTI) With the third edition of the Hero Hockey India League fast approaching, the organisers today announced the panel of Indian officials for the tournament scheduled from January 22 to February 22.

The panel boasts of esteemed and experienced names such as umpire Javed Shaikh, who has recently conducted his 100th match. The most experienced umpire, Shaikh has been officiating in major tournaments like the FIH World Cup, the Commonwealth Games and the Asian Games since 2003.

Raghu Prasad RV, who has conducted 90 matches till now, will be seen on field during the league. He has been officiating since 2004 and conducted matches in the FIH World Cup and the Commonwealth Games. He also officiated in the 2012 London Olympics. The officials’ panel also include Gurinder Singh Sangha (37 matches), Ripudaman Sharma (15 matches), Anil Kumar (6 matches) and a new name to the list Gurbaj Singh, who will make his debut.

The panel consists of judges – Anjali Sharma, Milind Narwekar and Sonia Bathla.

The technical officials in the panel include Claudius de Sales, Moghul Mohammed Muneer and Ashutosh Verma.

Speaking on the appointment, Hockey India League’s CEO, Elena Norman said, “The League is in its third year and hence, it is necessary we take it a notch higher in all fronts. The entire panel of umpires and officials coming on board are known for their work towards the game and they have vast experience in officiating international-level matches around the world.

“Hero Hockey India League welcomes each one on board and will look forward to their contribution in this season.”

Leave a Reply