English | मराठी 

IPL: SRH beat KKR by 16 runs via D/L method


Visakhapatnam: SunRisers Hyderabad beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 16 runs via Duckworth/Lewis method in their rain-curtailed IPL Twenty20 match here on wednesday.

Skipper David Warner led from the front with a blistering 91 as Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated defending champions Kolkata knight Riders by 16 runs via Duckworth-Lewis method in a rain-truncated match of the Indian Premier League cricket tournament, here today.

Courtesy Warner’s 55-ball knock, Sunrisers scored a decent 176 for four in 20 overs but due to an hour long rain delay, the revised target for KKR turned out to be 118 from 12 overs. The Shah Rukh Khan co-owned franchise could only manage 101 for four in 12 overs.

Credit should be given to the ‘Two Kumars from Meerut’ — Praveen (1/18 from 2 overs) and Bhuvneshwar (1/24), who gave away just 5 and 7 runs respectively in the 10th and 11th over as KKR were left to score 25 off the last over.

Bhuvneshwar again bowled a decent last over giving away 8 runs as Warner and company logged home two more points by virtue of their second win from five games.

KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir couldn’t repeat his performance of the previous game as he was dismissed while trying to whack a Praveen Kumar delivery over mid-wicket.

Robin Uthappa hit a few audacious shots en route his 21-ball-34 before flicking one from Moises Henriques to Praveen, who was placed at short fine leg.

Andre Russell (19 from 10 balls) again showed his big hitting prowess with a couple of huge sixes with one off left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma that went into the top tier.

However he was gone trying another big hit off Ravi Bopara being caught by Dale Steyn at long-off boundary.

Once Russell was gone, it was left to Manish Pandey (33 not out) and Yusuf Pathan (6). Much depended on Pathan, who since long time has not won a match singlehandedly for his franchise with only a few second fiddles to show. He again failed to provide the winning push.

Brief Score:

SunRisers Hyderabad: 176/4 in 20 overs (David Warner 91, Shikhar Dhawan 54; Morne Morkel 2-31).

Kolkata Knight Riders: 101/4 in 12 overs – revised target 118 in 12 overs – (Robin Uthappa 34, Manish Pandey 33 not out; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1-24).


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir(c), Robin Uthappa(w), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Morne Morkel, Pat Cummins, Veer Pratap Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Azhar Mahmood, Brad Hogg, Sumit Narwal, Sheldon Jackson, Aditya Garhwal, Kishan Cariappa, Vaibhav Rawal, Johan Botha

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan, David Warner(c), Kane Williamson, Lokesh Rahul, Naman Ojha(w), Ravi Bopara, Ashish Reddy, Karn Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Dale Steyn, Eoin Morgan, Ishant Sharma, Moises Henriques, Parvez Rasool, Ricky Bhui, Chama Milind, Kevin Pietersen, Bipul Sharma, Trent Boult, Hanuma Vihari, Prasanth Padmanabhan, Siddarth Kaul

Leave a Reply