English | मराठी 

Johnson named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Mitchell Johnson

Dubai, Nov 14 (PTI) It was double delight Mitchell Johnson as the Australian fast bowler was today declared ICC Cricketer of the Year as well as the ICC Test cricketer of the Year.

The 33-year-old has won the coveted Cricketer of the Year award for the second time in his career while he is only third Australian after Ricky Ponting (2006) and Michael Clarke (2013) to win the Test Cricketer of the Year award.

During the voting period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, Johnson claimed 59 Test wickets at an average of 15.23, with best bowling figures of seven for 40 runs against England in Adelaide last December.

In ODIs, Johnson claimed 21 wickets in 16 games. Since the inception of the awards in 2004, Johnson is only the second player after compatriot Ricky Ponting to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy twice.

While Johnson previously won this trophy in 2009, Ponting lifted it back-to-back in 2006 and 2007. Other winners include Rahul Dravid (2004), Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff (2005),

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012) and Michael Clarke (2013). “Some of the greats of the game have been nominated and won this award, and it

Leave a Reply