English | मराठी 

Kerala bags first day’s honours in national school athletics

61st National School Athletics Championship in Kozhikode

 Kozhikode : Host Kerala bagged the inaugural day honours by winning four long distance events in the five-day 61st National School Athletic Championship which got off to a start at the Olympian Rahman Stadium in Kozhikode Medical College campus here today.

Kerala’s Anumol Thampi won the Junior Girls section 3000m with a record breaking effort of 9:47.19 sec, eclipsing the meet mark of 10:00.03s by Ritu Dinakar of Uttar Pradesh in 2008 in Kolkata. K R Athira (Ker) fisnied second at 10:13.28s followed by Himachal Pradesh’s Seema 10:35.71s.

In the Junior Boys 3000m, P N Ajith (Ker) claimed the first spot finishing the race in 8:46.54s and Karthik Kumar (UP) came second with 8:47.69s. Vidya Bharathi’s Shyam finished third with 8:49.37s.

In the Senior Boys division (5000m), Bibin George (Ker) emerged winner covering the distance in 14:57.95s, followed by Sherin Jose (also of Ker in 14:58.74s) and Dharmendra Kumar Yadav of Vidya Bharathi (15:12.03s.)

P R Aleesha (Ker) took the gold in in the senior girls category 5000m clocking 17:46.64s while Sandra S Nair (Ker) came second finishing at 17:57.25s and Sudha Paul (UP) third with 18:16.95s.

Uttar Pradesh’s Rohit Yadav won the first place in the Senor Boys javellin with a distance of 66.46 m. Avinash Yadav (Vidya Bharathi in 58.76 m and Aman Goswamy (also of Vidya Bharathi in 54.10m) finished second and third respectively.

Leave a Reply