English | मराठी 

Konkan leads in Paryavaran Samruddha Gram Yojana


Konkan leads in Paryavaran Samruddha Gram Yojana introduced by the State government

EnvironmentKankavali: Biodiversity is the treasure of Konkan. Hence, the region leads in Paryavaran Samruddha Gram Yojana introduced by the State government. 384 grampanchayats with 64 grampanchayats of Sindhudurg, have achieved awards for environmental developments under this scheme. This projects Konkan and Sindhudurg’s sensitivity about environment.

The scheme was introduced in the year 2010 by the State government with  motive to create awareness about environment and more production opportunities for cultivators. The scheme was inspired by and on the grounds of Saint Gadgebaba’s gramswachhata abhiyaan (clean village campaign). the scheme included various campaigns like power generation through bio gas, common kitchen, smokeless burners, animal husbandry, bio gas plant, coal making from waste, creation of Biodiversity Park and rain water harvesting on personal level.

The scheme could see this success due to cultivators’ preference to yield crops naturally while maintaining balance of the environment. Plenty of trees including those of fruits were planted on barren vacant land which benefited cultivators. The concept of ‘Krushi Gram’ (Agro village) arouse from plantation of trees like cashew, mangoes, jack fruits, kokum, coconut, chiku etc. 384 villages of Konkan initiated in this task and achieved Vikas Ratna award.

Sindhudurg won 64 Vikas Ratna awards which shows that the district still follows advanced farming technologies and hygiene policies of veteran expert Appasaheb Patwardhan. He, popularly known as Konkan’s Gandhi, was the one who initially introduced toilet system in India. He also worked on the projects like bio gas and vermicomposting. He used to recommend to plant fruit and medicinal plants while undertaking plantation.

Other districts in Maharashtra has performed drastically lower than Konkan and Sindhudurg. Amravati could win only six and Nagpur only nine awards. Pune is also on lead along with Konkan. Aurangabad and Nashik division has achieved only 10 awards where Pune could won 423 awards.

Leave a Reply