English | मराठी 

Konkan proud to give 5th Bharat Ratna in the form of Sachin

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar is the 5th ‘Bharat Ratna’ who belongs to the Konkan region

Sachin Tendulkar at a warm up sessionRatnagiri: Announcement of ‘Bharat Ratna’ award to Sachin Tendulkar holds different significance as he is the 5th ‘Bharat Ratna’ who belongs to the Konkan region. This is an incredible coincidence that a narrow coastal region of mere 720 km has given five Bharat Ratnas to India.

Harche, in Lanja taluka of Ratnagiri district is a native place to Sachin Tendulkar. His family worship place is in this very village only.

Earlier, in 1958, Maharshi Dhondo Keshav Karve, who belongs to Murud village in Dapoli taluka, was presented this most prestigious title. In 1963, Pandurang Waman Kane from Parshuram in Chiplun at Ratnagiri was awarded with Bharat Ratna.

In 1983, the pioneer of Bhoodan movement Acharya Vinoba Bhanve and in 1990, the principal architect of the Constitution of India, Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar was honored with this title. Ambedkar was born in Ambdav village of Mandangad taluka of Ratnagiri district.

These four great personalities are the pride of Konkan who achieved the most prestigious title of the nation; Sachin Tendulkar carries forward the legacy.


Leave a Reply