English | मराठी 

Maha polls: 51.19 pc Mumbai voters cast their ballot

Ballot box

Ballot boxMumbai: A total of 51.19 per cent of the electorate cast their votes in Mumbai during the Assembly polls on Wednesday, as against 45 per cent in 2009, as per the final turnout figures released by the Election Commission.

Mumbai has crossed the 50 per cent mark in voter turnout this year, after the 1995 Assembly polls.

The final state tally stood at 63.13 per cent, as against 59.5 in the 2009 Assembly polls and 60.3 during 2014 Lok Sabha elections in May this year, as per the EC statistics released last evening.

The Congress and NCP have sitting legislators in 20 of the 36 constituencies of Mumbai.

While 33 constituencies recorded an increase in turnout ranging from 1-9 per cent as compared to the 2009 polls, three constituencies witnessed a dip in polling percentage.

Magathane constituency witnessed a turnout of 52.72 per cent, against 54.19 per cent in 2009. Vikhroli had 51.56 per cent turnout against 52.4 per cent and Mankhurd-Shivaji Nagar had 41.65 per cent against 42.2 per cent in 2009. All the three are represented by MNS.

The five constituencies that recorded more than 10 per cent increase in the voter turnout are Dharavi, Wadala, Byculla, Colaba and Kandivli (East).

An analysis of the male-female ratio has revealed that men turned out in greater numbers in 30 constituencies, while six witnessed a higher female turnout, as per the statistics released today by the state electoral office.

The constituencies that witnessed a higher women turnout are Chandivali (0.57 per cent higher as compared to men), Mankhurd-Shivaji Nagar (0.11 per cent), Anushakti Nagar (0.65 per cent), Dharavi (1.63 per cent), Worli (0.27 per cent) and Colaba (2.16 per cent).

All these constituencies, except Colaba and Worli, have a high slum population.

The overall male turnout across 36 constituencies was 51.99 per cent, while the female turnout was 50.25 per cent.


Leave a Reply