English | मराठी 

Maharashtra: 173 gram panchayats to go to polls on Dec 19

gram panchayats Election

Mumbai : As many as 173 gram panchayats in 27 districts in Maharashtra will go to polls on December 19, the State Election Commissioner said today.

State Election Commissioner J S Saharia told reporters the elections will be held on December 19 while counting of votes will be taken up on December 21.

The voting will take place from 7:20 AM to 5:30 PM in all districts, except in Gadchiroli where it will end at 3:30 PM.

He said the tenure of the 173 gram panchayats ends between January, 2016 and April, 2016.

The model code of conduct will be in force from midnight today, he said.

Nominations will be accepted from November 30 to December 4, while the scrutiny of papers will take place on December 5.

Last date of withdrawal of papers is December 8. Distribution of election symbol will also take place on the same day.

The election will be held in 50 gram panchayats of Ratnagiri, one each in Chandrapur, Nandurbar and Beed, two each in Osmanabad, Amravati, Yavatmal, Latur and Pune, three in Thane, Aurangabad, Washim, four in Kolhapur and Buldhana, five in Hingoli and Gadchiroli, 11 in Solapur and 13 in Satara.

Leave a Reply