English | मराठी 

Maharashtra to shut down 12 toll plaza


Mumbai: Maharashtra government today announced closure of 12 toll plazas from the midnight of May 31 while exempting cars, jeeps and state transport buses from paying toll at 53 other such booths.

The toll plazas in Mumbai and Mumbai-Pune expressway, however, would continue.

Eleven of these about-to-be-closed toll plazas are of PWD, while one is under the control of Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation, according to a government release.

The exemption for private vehicles and state transport buses would be at 27 toll plazas of PWD and 26 of the MSRTC.

The decision in this regard had been announced by the Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis during the budget session of state legislature.

The state has witnessed violent agitations against the toll plazas in the recent past.

Leave a Reply