English | मराठी 

Mizoram poll counting tomorrow

mizo polls

Counting of votes for 40-member Mizoram assembly would be held tomorrow

mizo pollsAizawl: Counting of votes for 40-member Mizoram assembly, election to which was held on November 25, would be held tomorrow.

State Joint Chief Electoral Officer H Lalengmawia today said that elaborate security arrangements have been made in the counting centres in the eight districts.

Director General of Election Commission of India Ashish Srivastava and a number of observers have arrived to supervise and oversee the process, he said.

At total of 142 candidates, including six women, are in the fray.

The ruling Congress has contested all the 40 seats as has Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA). MDA constituent Mizo National Front (MNF) has contested in 31, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) in eight and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) contested in one seat.

Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) fielded candidates in 38 seats while BJP contested 17 seats. Others included 2 NCP candidates, one Jai Maha Bharhat Party and four independents.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress is in the reckoning from Serchhip, his home turf, and neighboring Hrangturzo. The main opponent MNF leader and former chief minister Zoramthanga is trying his luck from Tuipui East seat.


Leave a Reply