English | मराठी 

MSME Ministry inks MoU with Samsung to open technical schools


The Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME) Ministry today joined hands with consumer electronics major Samsung…

MSMENew Delhi: The Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME) Ministry today joined hands with consumer electronics major Samsung to set up technical schools across the country for imparting technical skills to youth.

“The Ministry of MSME is committed to create industry responsive manpower by giving thrust on employable skills and vocational training in partnership with industry,” MSME Minister Kalraj Mishra said.

“I hope that this joint initiative of MSME Ministry and Samsung would be able to train 10,000 youth per year who would have the opportunity to find placement in various appliances manufacturing organisations including Samsung,” he said.

The MSME-Samsung Technical Schools will run Samsung’s Advanced Repair and Industrial Skills Enhancement programme, providing students trade-specific training on various aspects of repar and troubleshooting for consumer electronic products such as mobile phones, televisions, home theatres, home appliances and their related accessories.

President & CEO, South West Asia of Samsung Electronics B D Park said: “India is a key growth market for global consumer electronics manufacturing which lends itself to enormous employment opportunity. As an industry leader, Samsung is committed to work with the Indian government to tap this potential”.

“The fee structure is Rs 20,000 per course of three months duration. If the student cannot pay, we will arrange for a bank loan. (On completion of the course) The student is free to join Samsung or set up his own business or even join a rival company (of Samsung). We aim to train 10,000 students across the country annually,” Additional Secretary & Development Commissioner of MSME Amarendra Sinha told.

The schools will be opened at MSME Technology centres in 10 cities, including New Delhi, Bhubaneshwar, Ludhiana, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Aurangabad, Kolkata, Varanasi, Mumbai and Chennai, this year.


Leave a Reply