English | मराठी 

Objection to ‘Eco Sensitive Zone’


Villagers in Kudal and Kankavali have shown strong opposition to Eco Sensitive Zone

RADHANAGARI BAITHAK PHOTOKankavali: Every person in Sindhudurg is environment lover. Therefore, 7 villages in Kudal taluka and 16 villages in Kankavali, adjoining to Dajipur Sanctuary are not required to cover under the ‘Eco Sensitive Zone’. The villagers in Kudal and Kankavali have expressed strong protest against Eco Sensitive and demanded that private lands should be omitted, if it is inevitable.

They are evoking Forest Department to clarify their stand in the presence of Minister in-charge of Sindhudurg, Narayan Rane; MP Dr Nilesh Rane and Youth leader Nitesh Rane.

The meeting of the villagers and their representatives from adjoining areas of Dajipur Wildlife Sanctuary from Sindhudurg and Kolhapur district was held at Radhanagari. This meeting was also attended by M K Rao, Chief Regional Forest Guard and V K Shelke, Associate Deputy Forest Guard to represent Forest Department.

From Kankavali taluka Kurli, Shirale, Ghonsari, Phonda, Harkul, Khurd, Bhirwande, Natal, Digvale, Kumbhvade, Naradave and from Kudal taluka Sonawade, Ghodage, Bharani, Pangad, Kusgaon, Naarur and Girgaon are within 16 km of air distance from Dajipur Sanctuary. They have started the process to reserve this land on this basis.

Villagers strongly opposed it in a meeting held at Radhanagari. They said if the land has to be covered under this, 485.36 hector from Kudal and 9512.34 hector land from Kankavali can be reserved. Also, apart from forest land, private land should also not be acquired.

These villagers will not receive civic services if these villages would be covered under Eco Sensitive Zone. Hence, they are demanding Forest department to make alterations in distance.

On this occasion, MLA K P Patil, Former Speaker Sandesh Patel, Member of Panchayat Committee Baban Huldive, Tanvi Pawar, Dilip Tawate, Raju Patel, Bhai Tawade, Nana Gawade, Subhash Dalvi, Sarpanch of Harkul Deepak Ekawade, Sarpanch of Ghonsari Sunil Lad, Raju Rane, Sameer Rane, Vishwanath Jadhaw, Member of Zila Parishad Namrata Sutar were also present.

Leave a Reply