English | मराठी 

Opposition parties march against Land Bill

Opposition leaders march to Rashtrapati Bhavan

New Delhi: Over 100 Opposition MPs led by Congress Chief Sonia Gandhi today marched from Parliament to the Rashtrapati Bhawan protesting against the Land Acquisition Bill.

MPs and leaders from around 10 political parties including Samajwadi Party, Trinamool Congress, CPI and CPI(M) participated in the protest march amid heavy security.

The Congress and other Opposition parties have been opposing the Land Acquisition Bill terming it as anti-farmer and pro-corporate.

The protesters shouted anti-government slogans resolving to continue their opposition till the Modi government makes changes in the Bill.

A large contingent of security personnel drawn from the Delhi Police and paramilitary forces was deployed in the area in riot gear.

Barricades were set up and water cannons were also placed on the route leading from Parliament to the President’s House, the route of the march.

The Lok Sabha had cleared the Bill last week and the government now faces its real test in the Rajya Sabha where it is in a minority.

Leave a Reply