English | मराठी 

Over 48 per cent voter turnout in Mumbai

ink mark.jpeg

ink mark.jpegMumbai: Over 48 per cent of the 1.01 crore voters in Mumbai today exercised their franchise.

As per the latest figures available with the State Electoral Office, Andheri East saw the highest 56.22 per cent turnout, while Borivali, Mulund, Bhandup West, Jogeshwari, Dahisar, Vile Parle, Ghatkopar East, Wadala, Byculla and Malabar Hill saw more than 40 per cent turnout.

The lowest was reported in Versova with 28.9 per cent turnout.

Voting, which was brisk and moderate throughout the day, picked up later in the afternoon and election officials expected a satisfactory turnout till the close of poll at 1800 hrs.

As many as 519 candidates are in the fray for 36 constituencies in the country’s financial capital.

Mumbai city had recorded a turnout of 38.65 per cent, while suburbs saw 37.98 per cent electorate exercising their franchise.

In 2009 assembly elections, Mumbai had recorded a turnout of 46.1 per cent, while 48.4 per cent in 2004 and 44.9 per cent in 1999.

The highest was 58.7 per cent in 1995 when Congress had lost all the constituencies, except Colaba.

The city is witnessing a five-cornered contest with Shiv Sena, BJP, Congress, NCP and MNS fighting independently.

Prominent among the candidates in Mumbai include former ministers Suresh Shetty from Andheri East, Mohammed Arif Naseem Khan in Chandivali, and Varsha Gaikwad in Dharavi.

Mumbai BJP president Ashish Shelar in Bandra West and Leader of Opposition in the State Legislative Council Vinod Tawde in Borivali are also in the fray.

Several film personalities, including Rekha, Abhishek Bachchan, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and politicians including NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and MNS chief Raj Thackeray cast their votes in the early hours of voting.


Leave a Reply