English | मराठी 

Poll: Yavatmal district has 20 lakh eligible voters


votingYavatmal: Over 20,05,583 voters are found eligible in Yavatmal district in East Maharashtra to cast their vote in the Assembly poll scheduled on October 15 in Maharashtra.

“The district administration is fully prepared to hold a fair and peaceful election in all the seven Assembly segments in the district with a total electoral roll of 20,05,583 voters,” Chief Returning Officer and the District Collector, Rahulranjan Mahiwal told reporters in a press conference last evening.

He said that 37,000 voters are registered afresh in the ongoing registration process which will continue till September 17, 10 days before the deadline for filing of nominations.

“There are 2,339 polling stations in the district of which 60 polling stations have been identified as sensitive and 11 polling stations as most sensitive,” Mahiwal said, adding that 18 police check-posts are proposed under 29 police stations in the district to have a close vigil over the incoming vehicles during the election period.

Seven segments in the district are: Wani, Ralegaon, Yavatmal, Digras, Arni, Pusad, and Umarkhed.

“Five battalions of Central Reserve Police Force have been summoned to maintain law and order situation in the district and 7 SDPOs, 18 police inspectors, 168 sub-inspectors, 2,850 constables and 838 homeguards will be deployed during the poll process,” he added.


Leave a Reply