English | मराठी 

Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg votes today

ink mark

Polling for 16th Lok Sabha elections has been started in Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg constituency today from early morning

Lok Sabha election 2014Ratnagiri: Polling for 16th Lok Sabha elections has been started in Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg constituency today from early morning. Total 13, 63,957 voters on 1904 voting centres will decide fate of 10 candidates contesting from this electorate.

The 10 candidates from this constituency includes Dr Nilesh Narayan Rane, Rajendra Lahu Aayare, Vinayak Bhaurao Raut, Abhijeet Shriram Hegshetye, Advt Deepak Nevgi, Yashwant Anant Birje, Vinod Hanumantrao Sawant, Ajinkya Dhondu Gawade, Arun Harishchandra Manjarekar, Sunil aka Yashwant Vasant Pednekar. Voting will be conducted between 7AM to 6 PM today.

The Election Commission has increased polling hours by one hour for the first time with an intention to record more votes. Voters will also receive VVPAT for first time during this election.

Meanwhile, around 10,521 poll employees are appointed to conduct voting on these 1904 centres. Jeeps and buses were arranged for their transportation.

To avoid any unfavorable incident at polling centres, 2371 personnel including police, homeguards and CRPF are deployed.

Live broadcast from 70 voting centres

Live broadcast of polling process from 70 voting centres including 32 in Rantagiri and 48 in Sindhudurg can be watched from anywhere in the world. The practice is introduced this year and special system has been set at 70 voting centres in the region for it. Special cameras are installed in voting rooms of the centres which are directly connected to the District Collector’s office. The broadcast can be watched on Ratnagiri.nic.in

The decision to conduct live broadcast aims to execute transparent voting process, informed Election officer Radhakrishnan B.

Total 1904 voting centres including 991 in Chiplun, Ratnagiri and Rajapur Vidhansabha constituencies whereas 913 in Kankavali, Kudal and Sawantwadi in Sindhudurg constituency are set up to execute voting process.

Leave a Reply