English | मराठी 

Revanta Mumbai Garuda drubs Haryana Hammers in PWL final.

Revanta's Mumbai Garuda- Champions of First edition of Pro Wrestling League

New Delhi, December 27:  Heavyweight team Revanta’s Mumbai Garuda maintained their unbeaten-run in the inaugural inaugural Pro Wrestling League (PWL)- Khel Fauladi and beat Haryana Hammers in the final tie by 7-2 at IGI Indoor Stadium to lift the championship trophy.

Revanta’s Mumbai Garuda led by three-time World Champion Adeline Gray from United States of America raced way to title triumph over Haryana Hammers convincingly and showed off their supremacy. Once Georigian grappler Odikadze Elizbar rattled Andriitesey Valerii by 6-4 in the men’s 97 weight category,

Mumbai team gained 5-2 lead in the tie. This lead ensured Mumbai team’s victory and sealed championship title in its favour. Odikadze Elizbar used his experience to launch swift attacks and gave Mumbai the important lead.

The final that witnessed nine bouts instead of the usual seven bouts, saw Mumbai wrestlers dominate throughout with skillful play and oozing confidence.

Before the Odikadze Elizbar vs Andriitesey Valerii bout, six one-sided contests took place. Mumbai team started the opening proceedings with a one-sided win. Asian Wrestling Championship Gold Medallist, Amit Dhankar whitewashed Vishal Rana by 12-0 in the men’s 65 Kg category. In the next bout, Haryana Hammers made a comeback, when Oksana Herhel beat Sakshi Malik of Mumbai team by Win By Fall in the women’s 58 Kg category and equaled the score 1-1.

Haryana Hammers was bolstered by another win in the next bout when its wrestler Livan Lopez Azcuy from Cuba overpowered Pradeep Kumar by 11-6 in the men’s 74 kg weight category. After this win, Haryana grabbed the lead 2-1. It was then turn of Mumbai captain Adeline Gray to convert her bout into a victory to equalize the score at 2-2. She outclassed Geetika Jakhar by 10-0 in the women’s 69 kg category.

Adeline Gray maintained her great form and unbeaten-run in the championship. In the following contest, Giorgi Sakandelidze of Mumbai team hammered Hitender Kumar by 10-0 in the men’s 125 kg category fight that lasted one minute 49 seconds. Mumbai took the lead by 3-2.  Haryana Hammers struggled in the next bout, giving an easy win to Mumbai. Showing her class on the mat, Odunayo Adekuoroye from Nigeria got the better of Haryana’s Tatyana Kit of Ukraine by 9-0 in the women’s 53 kg category. After this victory, Haryana give away as the pressure mounted on them to deliver. Odunayo Adekuoroye gave Mumbai the 4-2 lead.

Thereafter, Odikadze Elizbar’s triumph ensured Mumbai’s title victory. In the next two bouts too, Mumbai stamped their authority as Ritu Phogat and Rahul Aware recorded victories over their respective opponents. Ritu beat Nirmal Devi 4-4 by virtue of points difference in the 97 kg category fight while Rahul Aware beat Nitin Rathee by 6-3 in the men’s 57 kg category.

Praising the first edition of PWL, India’s ace wrestler and Olympics medallist Sushil Kumar said, “I want to congratulate the organizers and the Indian Wrestling Federation for coming forward and conducting such a league. I have seen several international wrestling championships, but the way this maiden league has been organized is amazing and laudable. Fans have turned in great numbers to witness the bouts. Also, this league has provided big platform to all wrestlers. This initiative will go a long way in making wrestling the most favourite sport in India.”

The victorious team was awarded the winning trophy in a glittering ceremony. The final tie played at the IGI Stadium was witnessed by more than 5,000 fans. Also, it was a star-studded affair as Indian sporting icons like boxer Vijender Singh, cricketers Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and also Rohit Sharma, who happens to be UP Warriors’ co-owner.

Later, Narsingh Yadav of Bengaluru Yodhas was declared as wrestler of the league in the men’s section, while Yogeshwar Dutt, who missed the final match due to an injury, was declared as the icon-cum-mentor of the league. In the women’s section, Vinesh Phogat and Odunayo Adekuoroye were declared as joint best wrestlers of the league.

Leave a Reply