English | मराठी 

Sena candidate defeats Davkhare in Thane MLC poll

Maharashtra legislative council

Mumbai : Shiv Sena candidate Ravindra Phatak was today declared elected in the Maharashtra Legislative Council poll from Thane local bodies constituency.

Phatak defeated five-time MLC and NCP nominee Vasant Davkhare, the Deputy Chairman of the state Legislative Council.

The poll to elect an MLC from Thane local bodies constituency was held on June 3.

As many as 99.72 per cent voters (1,057 of 1,060 voters) cast their votes.

The MLC election had all elected representatives from local civic bodies, including zilla parishad, municipal corporation and municipal council, in Thane district as voters.

District Election Officer Mahendra Kalyankar declared Phatak elected after the counting, which started at 8 a.m. today.

Phatak, who won by a margin of 151 votes, polled 601 votes as against Davkhare, who could garner only 450.

Out of total 1,060 voters, 1,057 cast their votes, of which six were declared invalid.

In the previous election, Davkhare had been elected unopposed.

Realising the importance of the election, NCP chief Sharad Pawar had himself taken part in the campaign , but it failed to work in favour of Davkhare.

Leave a Reply