English | मराठी 

Sri Lanka names new cricket selection panel

sri lanka flag

Colombo: Sports Minister Navin Dissanayake has named a new national cricket selection panel headed by Kapila Wijegunawardena, who is also a member of the new interim committee running the affairs of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) right now.

Wijegunawardena, 51, was a former Test fast bowler who made his debut in the Lord’s Test of 1991. He is being joined in the panel by Brendon Kuruppu, Hemantha Wickremaratne and Amal Silva — all former internationals.

The new selection panel was appointed after the panel headed by Sanath Jayasuriya resigned last week. Dissanayake dismissed the SLC administration a day prior to the expiry of their term.

The interim committee headed by Sidath Wettimuny will run the cricket administration until corruption in the administration is probed, Dissanayake said.

Leave a Reply