English | मराठी 

RS wins Medak LS seat, TDP gains Nandigama assembly segment 

Andhra Pradesh

Andhra PradeshHyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) reigned supreme in Medak Lok Sabha constituency in Telangana, while the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) retained the Nandigama assembly segment in Andhra Pradesh.

The bypoll results were on expected lines and threw up no surprises since voters chose to back ruling parties in largely one-sided contests.

TRS nominee K Prabhakar Reddy recorded a huge victory margin of 3,61,277 votes in Medak, which was vacated by TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao after he became Telangana chief minister, though it fell short of Rao’s 3.97 lakh votes victory margin in the May elections.

The Congress came second, with V Sunita Laxma Reddy getting 2,10,523 votes, pushing back BJP’s T Jayaprakash Reddy (1,86,334).

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao saw the victory as an endorsement of the TRS-led state government’s functioning.

“People have endorsed what we did in these three months (after coming to power),” Rao said at a press conference, where he criticised Congress, TDP and BJP for attacking his government without any real basis.

There was no stopping TDP in Nandigama (SC), where its nominee Tangirala Sowmya, a software engineer, won by 74,827 votes.

The election in this segment in Krishna district was necessitated after the death of Sowmya’s father T Prabhakar due to cardiac arrest, just days after his election in May.

She polled 99,748 votes, even as her Congress rival Bodapati Babu Rao finished a distant second with 24,921 votes.

The main opposition YSR Congress Party did not field any candidate after the TDP requested other parties to make the election unanimous.

“We may consider this victory as a gift from people in the Chandrababu Naidu government which is completing 100 days in office today and Vijayawada (in Krishna district) being declared as capital of Andhra Pradesh,” Sowmya said.


Leave a Reply