English | मराठी 

IPL 8 auction: Yuvraj sold for record Rs 16 crore, list

IPL logo

Bangalore: Flamboyant all-rounder Yuvraj Singh today emerged as the costliest cricketer in the IPL 8 players’ auction, bought for a record Rs 16 crore (USD 2.57 million approx) by Delhi Daredevils here.

Yuvraj, who carried a base price of Rs 2 crore, was sold for the highest ever price in IPL history after a fierce tug of war for his services between Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore, who bought him last year for Rs 14 crore, at a glitzy auction at a city hotel here.

However, it was quite a surprise to see Yuvraj going past his last year’s price as he has been out of the Indian team for some time.

Initially, there was a four-way bidding among Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers, Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils to buy India’s 2011 World Cup hero in the auction conducted by Richard Madley. But once the bidding reached Rs 7 crore, RR and KXIP quit, leaving DD and RCB in the fray.

Delhi Daredevils, who have the largest purse of Rs 39.75 crore among all the eight franchises taking part in the auction, also bought Sri Lankan captain and all-rounder Angelo Mathews for Rs 7.5 crore, the third highest price in the first two rounds of auction.

RCB, who lost to DD in their bid to get Yuvraj and Mathews, bought wicketkeeper batsman Dinesh Karthik for Rs 10.5 crore, the second highest price, even though it was Rs 1.5 crore lower than the amount he was bought for by DD last year.

Surprisingly, former England captain Kevin Pietersen, who was bought for Rs 9 crore last year by DD, could get just Rs 2 crore as he was sold to Sunrisers Hyderabad at the base price.

Other players sold in the auction were India Test opener Murali Vijay for Rs 3 crore (to KXIP), leg-spinner Amit Mishra (Rs 3.5 crore by DD), Aaron Finch (Rs 3.2 crore by Mumbai Indians), Eoin Morgan (Rs 1.5 crore by SRH) and Kane Williamson (Rs 60 lakh by SRH).

Sri Lankans Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara and South African Hashim Amla went unsold in the first two rounds for marquee players which was attended by Nita Ambani, Ricky Ponting, Anil Kumble, V V S Laxman, Muttiah Muralitharan, Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten, Stephen Fleming, Vijay Mallya and Preity Zinta among others.

New Zealand fast bowler Trent Boult also fetched an impressive sum of Rs 3.8 crore from his base price of Rs 50 lakh as he was bought by SRH who joined the bidding after an initial tug of war between RCB and MI.

There was also intense bidding for Indian pacer Praveen Kumar who was bought at the end by SRH for Rs 2.20 crore. SRH also strengthened their squad by buying England all-rounder Ravi Bopara for Rs 1 crore.

Two other all-rounders in West Indian Darren Sammy and South African went to RCB for an identical Rs 2.80 crore. RCB also bought young Australian pacer Sean Abbott for Rs 1 crore.

Veteran Australian Michael Hussey returned to Chennai Super Kings at his base price of Rs 1.5 crore.

Indian-origin Australian pacer Gurinder Sandhu who has played just two ODIs so far, was the surprise pick for Rs 1.7 crore by big spenders Delhi Daredevils who also bought Indian pacer Jaydev Undkat for Rs 1.1 crore. Indian left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha also returned to Mumbai Indians for Rs 50 lakh.

Besides CSK, Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals were the other franchises who did not spend much in the auction. RR bought South African all-rounder Christopher Morris for Rs 1.4 crore.

Former India pace bowlers Zaheer Khan and Irfan Pathan remained unsold in the initial round, the same as Cheteshwar Pujara, Pankaj Singh and Munaf Patel.

Brad Hodge, Ross Taylor, Alex Hales, Cameron White, Luke Ronchi, Marlon Samuels, Tillakaratne Dilshan were among the foreign players who sid not have any takers.

Following is the list of players who were sold in the IPL 8 auction here today.


 Michael Hussey           batsman   1,50,00,000
Irfan Pathan  All-Rounder   1,50,00,000
Rahul Sharma                  Bowler       30,00,000
 Kyle Abbott               Bowler      30,00,000
 Andrew Tye               Bowler       20,00,000
 Pratyush Singh         All-Rounder   10,00,000
 Ankush Bains           Wicket Keeper    10,00,000
 Eklavya Dwivedi      Wicket Keeper    10,00,000


Yuvraj Singh               Batsman  16,00,00,000 
 Angelo Mathews    All-Rounder  7,50,00,000
 Zaheer Khan           Bowler  4,00,00,000
 Amit Mishra            Bowler  3,50,00,000
 Shreyas Iyer  Batsman  2,60,00,000
 Gurinder Sandhu          Bowler    1,70,00,000
 Jaydev Unadkat      Bowler   1,10,00,000
 Domnic Joseph        Bowler   75,00,000
 Albie Morkel     All-Rounder  30,00,000
 Travis Head       Batsman  30,00,000
 Marcus Stoinis          All-Rounder  25,00,000
 CM Gautam                      Wicket Keeper   20,00,000
 Kona Srikar Bharat          Wicket Keeper  10,00,000
 KK Jiyaz                           Bowler   10,00,000


 Murali Vijay                      Batsman 3,00,00,000 
 Nikhil Shankar Naik        Wicket Keeper  30,00,000
Yogesh Gowalkar             All-Rounder     10,00,000


 KC Cariappa                Bowler  2,40,00,000
James Neesham    All-Rounder 50,00,000
 Brad Hogg   Bowler  50,00,000
 Aditya Garhwal  All-Rounder  25,00,000
Sheldon Jackson   Batsman     15,00,000
 Sumit Narwal                 All-Rounder  10,00,000
Vaibhav Rawal                  All-Rounder   10,00,000


 Aaron Finch                Batsman 3,20,00,000 
 Pragyan Ojha             Bowler   50,00,000
 Abhimanyu Mithun                   Bowler   30,00,000
Mitchell McClenaghan              Bowler   30,00,000
Aiden Blizzard  Batsman  30,00,000
 Hardik Pandya   All-Rounder     10,00,000
 Akshay Wakhare                     Bowler   10,00,000
 Nitish Rana      All-Rounder     10,00,000
 Siddhesh Dinesh Lad   All-Rounder     10,00,000
J Suchitch              All-Rounder      10,00,000


 Christopher Morris              All-Rounder     1,40,00,000
 Juan Theron                              Bowler    30,00,000 
 Barinder Singh Saran               Bowler    10,00,000 
 Dinesh Salunkhe           All-Rounder     10,00,000 
 Sagar Trivedi                   All-Rounder     10,00,000 
Pardeep Sahu                      All-Rounder     10,00,000  


 Dinesh Karthik              Wicket Keeper   10,50,00,000
 Darren Sammy                  All-Rounder   2,80,00,000
 David Wiese                 All-Rounder   2,80,00,000
 Sean Abbott                  Bowler   1,00,00,000
 Adam Milne                       Bowler  70,00,000
 Sarfaraz Naushad Khan               Batsman    50,00,000
Subramaniam Badrinath               Batsman    30,00,000
Jalaj Saxena                    All-Rounder  10,00,000    
Shshir Bhavane                              Batsman    10,00,000    


Trent Boult                           Bowler    3,80,00,000
Praveen Kumar                         Bowler 2,20,00,000
Kevin Pietersen                   Batsman  2,00,00,000
Eoin Morgan                       Batsman  1,50,00,000
Ravi Bopara               All-Rounder  1,00,00,000
Kane Williamson                  All-Rounder  60,00,000
Laxmi Ratan Shukla               All-Rounder  30,00,000
Prasanth Padmanabhan          All-Rounder  10,00,000.
Hanuma Vihari                       Batsman     10,00,000.
Siddarth Kaul               Bowler 10,00,000.


Leave a Reply